Name: Joe Wieners

Born: Born and grew up in Hastings, MN.

Hockey Experience: Developed interest in hockey in High School as a spectator - no program in town at the time. Helped fundraise for Hastings Arena. Helped with construction of outdoor rink in Menomonie, Wis. Attended High School, College, and Pro games. Started skating at age 25 and "played" (and survived) in a couple college intramural games when I taught at UW-Stout. Continued sporadic recreational skating mostly in Kasson outdoors. Continued attending High School, Junior A, College, and Pro games.

Incorporated Dodge County Youth hockey. President of Dodge County Youth Hockey Association when grant funds for building a rink became available - helped write grant, generated county-wide support. Selected contractor, fundraised, assisted with construction labor, and anything else imaginable involving construction of an indoor rink.

At age 50, began skating in novice league and later in the BBHL in Kasson. Started coaching youth hockey. Began the Dodge County Girls program about a dozen years ago and continue to be involved with it today. Met Mark Janes when we were both playing in the BBHL.

How did you get your start with MJDHL: Learned of MJDHL probably from Terry Meyers and called Mark to inquire (and proably invite myself to participate).

Started playing with MJDHL: Began actually playing in about the 3rd year, I believe. Time flies when you're having fun!

Jersey number and why you chose it: Current jersey #17. Wanted a number that matched my maturity level.

Playing status: I'd like to think my playing status is "active", but I concede that anytime I miss a couple weeks in a row that "active" might not be the most accurate description.

Family: Wife - tolerates my hockey involvement and may be up for sainthood as a consequence. Daughter who played goalie on earliest Dodge County High School team and after I saw her get bombarded with 60 shots against per game inspired me to get involved with developing our girls program. Son played through bantams.

Occupation: Judge X's nearly 24 years.

Other Hobbies/Activities/Sports you enjoy: I also like to flyfish, spend time in the woods and "up North", garden, read, bike, canoe, travel, follow Gopher hockey and other sports and have lots of other interests. I played competitive softball until I was 50.

©All Rights Reserved